

2011 IEEE International Conference on Imaging Systems and Techniques (IST2011)

Batu Ferringhi, Penang, Malaysia

17-18 May 2011

Call for Papers

Abstract due: 21 Feb. 2011 Notification of acceptance: 7 March 2011 Full paper due: 10 April 2011

Sponsored by the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society

Organised by IEEE I&M TC-19 Technical Committee

In collaboration with School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)



Following the success of IEEE Workshops on Imaging Systems and Techniques, Stresa, Italy in 2004, Niagara Falls, Canada in 2005, Minori, Italy in 2006, Krakow, Poland in 2007, Chania, Island of Crete, Greece in 2008, Shenzhen, China, in 2009, Thessaloniki, Greece in 2010, the 2011 IEEE Conference on Imaging Systems and Techniques (IST 2011) will take place in Batu Ferringhi, Penang, Malaysia.

IST 2011 deals with the design, development, evaluation and applications of imaging systems, instrumentation, and measuring techniques, to enhance detection and image quality. Applications for aerospace, medicine and biology, molecular imaging, metrology, ladar and lidars, radars, homeland security, and industrial imaging with emphasis on industrial tomography, corrosion imaging, and non-destructive evaluation (NDE) will be covered. The following areas will be particularly considered:

- Detector design principles and image formation
- Imaging system design and instrumentation
- Signal and image analysis
- Linear and non-linear processing techniques
- Medical imaging and bio-nano-photonics
- Environmental monitoring, energy resources
- · Molecular imaging and metabolic imaging
- · Remote sensing, passive and active sensing
- Ladars, Lidars, and Radars
- Multispectral Polarimetric Imaging and Lasers
- · Subsurface inspection, corrosion imaging
- Radiation detection, airport security and cargo
 Inspection-standoff detection techniques
- Electromagnetic imaging and inverse scattering
- Real-time image and video processing

About Penang in Malaysia

On average more than 20 million tourists (Malaysia population is 27 million) visit Malaysia each year. Known as the "Pearl of the Orient", Penang is one of the most visited states in Malaysia. A description of Penang, as extracted from the website of Tourism Penang, is as follows: "A fascinating fusion of the East and West, Penang embraces modernity while retaining its traditions and old world charm. These are reflected in its harmonious multiracial populace and well-preserved heritage buildings which led to George Town being accorded a listing as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site recently. Long regarded as the food capital of Malaysia, Penang also entices visitors with its beautiful coasts and scrumptious cuisines.". Further information can be found at http://www.tourismpenang.gov.my/. If the need arises, an island tour or visit to numerous tourist attractions like the Penang Hill can be arranged with additional costs.

Proceedings will be published and indexed by IEEEXplore.

High-quality papers will be published, after peer-review to archival journals.

General Chair IST, TC 19 Chairman

George C. Giakos, The University of Akron, United States

Honorary Chairs

Mohd Zaid Abdullah, Universiti Sains Malaysia

Wuqiang Yang, The University of Manchester, UK Maria Petrou, Informatics and Telematics Institute, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH),

Greece Konstantina Nikita, National Technical University of

Athens (NTUA), Greece

Theodore Laopoulos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH), Greece

Co-chairs

Matteo Pastorino, University of Genoa, Italy

Cesare Svelto, Polytechnic of Milan, Italy

Michalis Zervakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece

Nikolaos Bourbakis, Wright State University, USA

Michele Ceccarelli, University of Sannio, Italy

George Zentai, Varian Medical Systems, USA

Dimitrios Karras, Technological Educational Institute of Chalkida, Greece

Antonios Gasteratos, Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH), Greece

Technical Program Chair

George C. Giakos, The University of Akron United States

General Coordinator

Angelos Amanatiadis, DUTH, Greece

Secretary

Jeff Petermann, The University of Akron, USA

Workshop Administrator

Chris Dyer, Conference Catalysts, LLC, USA

Design and Art

Zoe Giakos, Copley-Fairlawn, USA

International Board

Vincenzo Piuri, University of Milan, Italy Mel Siegel, Carnegie Mellon, USA Keerthi, Valluru, The University of Akron, USA Narender Reddy, The University of Akron, USA Emil Petriu, University of Ottawa, Canada Christo Christodoulou, University of New Mexico, USA Hui Ma, Tsinghua University Graduate School in Shenzhen, China Yong Yan, University of Kent, UK

Uwe Hampel, Forschungszentrum Dresden-Rossendorf e.V., Germany Stefanie Marotta, The University of Akron, USA Stavroula Mougiakakou, University of Bern, Switzerland Lihui Peng, Tsinghua University, China George Chatzimavroudis, Cleveland State University, USA Hujun Yin, The University of Manchester, UK Ng Swee Chin, TAR College, Malaysia Chua Ping Yong, TAR College, Malaysia Chi-Hwa Wang, National University of Singapore Dominik Sankowski, Technical University of Lodz, Poland Lazaros Nalpantidis, DUTH, Greece Yan Han, North University of China Zheng Ji, Shenzhen University, China Richard Thorn, Victoria University, Australia Wlademar Smolik, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland Ioannis Gousias, Imperial College, UK George Panayiotakis, University of Patras, Greece Nikolas Karakatsanis, NTUA, Greece Ioannis Valavanis, NTUA, Greece Angelos Amanatiadis, DUTH, Greece Andrea Trucco, University of Genova, Italy Dimitris lakovidis, University of Athens, Greece George Livanos, Technical University of Crete, Greece Lijun Xu, Beihang University, China Huaxiang Wang, Tianjin University, China Supavadee Aramvith, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand Kok-Swee Sim, Multimedia University, Malaysia Ahmad Fadzil M Hani, Universiti Teknologi Petronas, Malaysia

Local Committee

Mohd Zaid Abdullah, Universiti Sains Malaysia Lim Chee Peng, Universiti Sains Malaysia Ashidi Mat Isa, Universiti Sains Malaysia Carlos Beltran Gonzalez, Aitek srl, Italy Mohd Fadzil Ain, Universiti Sains Malaysia Aamir Saeed Malik, Universiti Teknologi Petronas, Malaysia Ruzairi Abd. Rahim, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia Ong Sze Wei, Intel Corporation, Malaysia Teoh Swee Thye, Centre of Excellence for E&E (IC Design), Penang, Malaysia

Ng Swee Chin, TAR College, Malaysia

Technical Committee

Wuqiang Yang, The University of Manchester, UK Maria Petrou, CERTH, Greece Konstantina Nikita, NTUA, Greece Matteo Pastorino, University of Genova, Italy Cesare Svelto, Polytechnic of Milan, Italy Michalis Zervakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece Jeffrey Chizmar, The University of Akron, USA Stelios Siskos, AUTH, Greece Chaya Narayan, The University of Akron, USA George Zentai, Varian Medical Systems, USA Dimitrios Karras, Technological Educational Institute of Chalkida, Greece Vincenzo Piuri, University of Milan, Italy Mel Siegel, Carnegie Mellon, USA Emil Petriu, University of Ottawa, Canada Christo Christodoulou, University of New Mexico, USA Divya Pingili, The University of Akron, USA Andrea Trucco, University of Genova, Italy Narender Reddy, The University of Akron, USA Andrea Randazzo, University of Genoa, Italy Lavia Polychronaki, NTUA, Greece Ioannis Andreadis, DUTH, Greece George Giannakakis, NTUA, Greece Michele Piana, University of Verona, Italy Bharath Kumar Reddy Mandadi, The University of Akron, USA Irene Karanassiou, NTUA, Greece